Special Awards

The Don Award

The Don Award is given to an individual who has shown both brilliance and excellence over a period of time in their burgeoning career in the TV advertising industry. The winner demonstrates professionalism and commitment in their work and in their relationships with colleagues, and has the potential to be a future industry leader in the advertising broadcast production industry. The winner must have been acknowledged as a contributor to one of the year's finalist, gold or craft awards.

Michael Clowater

The Spiess Award Winners

The Spiess Award is given to a person who has furthered the excellence of TV advertising in Canada throughout their career. The award is presented to a cameraperson, director, producer, editor, compositor, art director, copywriter, creative director, advertiser or anyone in the TV advertising community whose contributions have been continuing and of the highest order.

Chris Staples

The Kari Award

The Kari Award is presented to the best actor or actress in a commercial. The award was established in 1981 in honour of Kari Hannikainen, an actor who appeared in an acclaimed Heinz commercial.

James Gangl for “Dadhood”

The Bob Mann Award

The Bob Mann Post Production Award recognizes members of the commercial television post-production industry, who have demonstrated a long standing and continuing contribution to their craft, as well as toward the overall excellence of the commercial television post-production industry.

Ernie Mordak

The Janet Woods Award

As a celebrated producer, Janet Woods was an inspiration to those around her and left her mark in the advertising world. She was well known in the television production industry for being honest, enthusiastic, gracious under pressure, intelligent, eager to learn and always took pride in making each production its own enterprise.

The Janet Woods Award is designed to recognize deserving producers and to nurture the spirit of those following in her footsteps. The recipient will be a producer who exemplifies a unique blend of creative soul, enthusiasm, stimulating influence and leadership as a producer. The recipient is one who challenges conventional thinking, hones their skills and leads through our changing business environment- Like Janet.

Scott Mackenzie

Walter Bell Memorial Award

The Walter Bell Memorial Award was created to provide creative opportunities to a post-secondary writing student, in their graduating year, who exhibits exemplary writing skills and humane qualities.

Buyikunmioluwa Saliu